gapp awards gallery banner

DearSA Young Leaders Awards 2024: Recognising and rewarding our inspiring young leaders

There’s the adage that “it’s better to light a single candle than to curse the darkness,” which is something that Dear South Africa, a legally recognised and constitutionally protected non-profit platform is doing – through enabling the public to co-shape all government policies, amendments and proposals.

Aside from the NPO facilitating legally recognised public participation processes that allow South African citizens to co-form policy at all levels of governance, it also organises the DearSA Young Leaders Awards that recognises the significant work, which young South Africans are doing in their communities and South Africa as a whole.

Young people have great potential to make a positive impact on all spheres of our society. They can use their energy, creativity and enthusiasm to inspire and create meaningful change in the world around them.

The DearSA Young Leaders Awards is designed to encourage, acknowledge and reward the valuable contributions young people are making throughout South Africa, through highlighting the achievements of these dynamic young individuals, lending credence to their work and encouraging others to follow in their footsteps.

‘As we look towards building South Africa’s future, there is no greater asset than today’s youth. This generation is poised to solve future crises, lead organisations, craft policies, innovate and preserve or transform democracy and systems of justice,’ said Chloe Castle, CEO at DearSA.

She continued, ‘In fact, they are already doing it and it’s time we acknowledge the impact they make. Younger leaders are more likely to challenge how things are done and push for improvement. They are results-driven and focus on achieving their goals.’

The DearSA Young Leaders initiative aims to identify, acknowledge and celebrate the top five young South Africans making tangible real-world differences in their communities or nationwide across five categories:

– Politics & Government

– Civil Society

– Business

– Sport, Culture & Environment

– Media

‘The winner in each category is voted for by the public as well as a DearSA panel, with each weighted at 50%,’ Castle explained. ‘The public was able to vote on the DearSA website from 1 February 2024 to 30 April 2024, with the panel process taking place thereafter.’

Winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony taking place tomorrow (15th June) at Montecasino, Johannesburg, with the winner of each category receiving a cash prize amounting to R7 500.

For more information about Dear SA and the Young Leaders Awards, go to

Previous Article
Next Article