gapp awards gallery banner

Judges for 2024 Effie Awards South Africa announced

The Association for Communication and Advertising (ACA) and Effie South Africa are delighted to announce the Jury for the 2024 Effie Awards. This respected panel of experts is tasked with adjudicating the most effective campaigns by ensuring that all entries meet the highest standards of strategic and effective marketing communication. The winners of the 2024 programme will be revealed at a gala awards ceremony to be held in October in Johannesburg.

Further, Effie South Africa is pleased to introduce the new Jury Co-Chairs, Refilwe Maluleke, Executive Head of Marketing at Discovery Health and Ahmed Tilly, Creative Advisor and Director at Number 10 – A Creative Consultancy. Their leadership and expertise will be instrumental in guiding the jury through the evaluation process.

Refilwe Maluleke expressed her enthusiasm: ‘It is an honour to chair the Effie Awards Jury for 2024. It is easy for many to think of our industry as a purely creative endeavour, but ultimately the role of marketing is to drive topline growth in the short, medium and long-term through our strategic and creative capabilities. The Effies are an important acknowledgment and celebration of work that delivers results and I look forward to leading our esteemed panel in recognising these campaigns.’

Ahmed Tilly added: ‘Effective communication rarely exists in the absence of creativity. Highly creative work has been proven to unleash an unreasonable share of growth. I am excited to see how this year’s entries have blended creativity with strategic intent to make big impact on brands.’

The jury members, entrusted with Awarding Ideas that Work®, have been carefully selected based on their knowledge and experience within the marketing, communications and advertising sectors. The 2024 panel consists of leading industry figures and trendsetters drawn from various disciplines on both the client and agency sides, including the C-Suite, senior management, strategy, digital, creative, research and media.

Gillian Rightford, ACA Executive Director for Effie South Africa, remarked: ‘The quality of our jury members this year is exceptional. They bring a wealth of knowledge and experience, ensuring that the judging process is rigorous and fair. The gravitas of their role cannot be understated as they undertake the responsibility of identifying the most effective campaigns in our industry.’

2024 Effie Awards South Africa Jury

Refilwe Maluleke (Jury Co- Chair)Executive Head of MarketingDiscovery Health
Ahmed Tilly (Jury Co- Chair) Creative AdvisorNumber 10 – A Creative Consultancy
Adam JayesHead Of InsightsHoorah
Andreas ShifotokaAccount and Brand Management / Social MediaConsultant
Angelique LynchMarketing DirectorAutoTrader
Antony Stearns Head of StrategySaatchi & Saatchi
Arisha Saroop Managing Director, DurbanMedia Shop
Arné Rust Brand Director: Carling Black Label, Hansa & Lion LargerABInBev
Arpan Sur SSA Senior Marketing DirectorMondelez
Artwell NwailaHead of CreativeGoogle
Astrid Staegemann Media DirectorDentsu
Atiyya Karodia Associate Strategy DirectorAKQA
Brandon GovenderDigital & Integrated Executive Creative DirectorJoe Public
Carel Scheepers Head of Strategy – AfricaHavas
Catherine McPherson Brand & Integrated Senior Strategy DirectorIndependent
Charlie StewartChief Executive OfficerRogerWilco
Charné Munien Strategy DirectorCSM Agency
Danny de Nobrega Co-Founder & StrategistKilmer & Cruise
Dashni Vilakazi Managing DirectorMedia Shop
Derek Coles President and Managing DirectorMcCann
Dono White Strategic Planning DirectorVML South Africa
Erna George Insights & Analytics LeadPepsiCo
Ethel RamosManaging DirectorAvatar
Fran LuckinChief Creative OfficerVML South Africa
Giulia Iorio-Ndlovu Senior Marketing DirectorPepsiCo
Illé Potgieter Managing Director, Cape TownM&C Saatchi Abel
Isla Prentis Managing DirectorMi-Hub (Nahana)
Italia MabulaChief Marketing Officer, Business & Commercial BankingStandard Bank
Jacques Shalom Chief Creative OfficerClockwork
James Cloete Chief Creative OfficerRapt Creative
Jason HarrisonCo-Founder & Chief Operating OfficerM&C Saatchi Abel
Jill Snijman Marketing ManagerL’Oreal
Johanna McDowellFounder & Chief Creative OfficerIndependent Agency Selection
Kabelo Moshapalo Chief Creative OfficerOgilvy
Kalay Maistry Partner & Head of Corporate Reputation & AdvisoryRazor PR
Karabo Rameetse Brands, Communication & Advertising LeadEngen
Khuthala Holten Co-Managing DirectorJoe Public
Koo Govender Chief Creative OfficerPublicis Groupe Africa
Kyle Carson Marketing Director: Snacks, Treats & BeveragesTiger Brands
Lara Chatzkelowitz Strategy DirectorTBWA
Liezel Swiegers Marketing ManagerNaked Insurance
Luzuko Tena Advertising Associate ManagerAccenture
Masego MotsogiManaging DirectorM&C Saatchi Abel
Michelle Kemp External Communications ManagerMassMart
Mogorosi Mashilo Founder & DirectorTrendER
Moliehi Molekoa Managing DirectorMagna Carta
Mpange ChapeshamanoManaging PartnerOne Union
Natasha Chetty Senior Marketing Director Africa: Emerging CategoryCoca-Cola
Ndu DonsaBrand & Sponsorship Director (Sub Saharan Africa)Visa
Pedro De Gouveia Head of Retail Strategy99c
Pippa Misplon Managing DirectorRetroviral
Ponatshego MakhuzaShopper Marketing LeadUnilever
Raymond Langa Group Chief Executive Officer, South AfricaLeagas Delaney
Robyn Campbell Managing DirectorPublicis
Ryan Sauer Chief Executive OfficerRedwood Analytics
Sadiqah Levy Group Performance DirectorDentsu
Sisinyane SihlaliSenior StrategistTBWA
Stuart WalshHead of Boundless StrategyBoundless
Tebogo Koena Head of StrategyNetworkBBDO
Warren Moss Chief Executive OfficerDemographica
Wendy Bergsteedt Head of MarketingOld Mutual
Zahra Mirza Managing DirectorHKLM
Zayd Abrahams Chief Marketing & Strategy OfficerTiger Brands

The first round of judging will take place in July, followed by Round Two in early August. Judging will culminate with the Grand Effie Judging in early September. Details on the members of the Grand Effie Jury will be announced later in August.

This year, we are thrilled to see entries from a broader range of agencies and clients, spanning small, medium and large organisations. Entry numbers have grown significantly, reflecting the value and prestige associated with winning an Effie Award.

‘Our objective was to attract entries from a diverse array of agencies and clients. We have achieved this with submissions from big to small agencies, media houses, in-house teams and numerous client entries. We extend our gratitude to all participants and acknowledge the efforts of the Effie Committee and ACA secretariat during the entry period,’ said Rightford.

Tickets for the 2024 Effie Awards gala event, scheduled to take place on the 24th October, will go on sale soon. Stay tuned for more information on how to secure your place at this prestigious event. The Effie Awards South Africa is hosted by the ACA and proudly sponsored by Nedbank, GIB Insurance, SAB, Investec, PepsiCo and Unilever.

The 2024 Effie Awards promises to be a remarkable celebration of strategic excellence and creativity in marketing. Effie South Africa looks forward to honouring the campaigns that have demonstrated outstanding effectiveness and contributed significantly to the continued advancement of our industry.

Previous Article
Next Article