gapp awards gallery banner

HOT 102.7FM receives 12 SA Radio Awards nominations

HOT 102.7FM has once again been rewarded for producing outstanding radio, with 12 nominations in the 2023 SA Radio Awards, a little over two years after going live as Johannesburg’s newest commercial radio station.

Those nominations include three of the station’s most popular shows – “Joburg’s Hottest Breakfast Show”, “The Mark Pilgrim Show” and “Breakfast with Rob Vega”.

In the presenter categories, Tony Murrell is up for “Breakfast Presenter”, John Walland is up for “Traffic Presenter” and Tara Penny has been nominated in the “Field News reporter” and “Sports presenter” categories.

The HOT1027 news team have been nominated for 4 awards for their internationally recognised “Bully Chain” series and their in-depth coverage of “The Journey to K2”. In a nod to the unique sound of the station, HOT1027 has also been nominated for the coveted “Imaging” award.

‘We are humbled and so grateful to receive these nominations. Thank you to our audience who are an essential part of this HOT1027 family. We couldn’t do this without you. Thank you for your support as you share this journey with us. We will continue to be world-class and shoot for the stars as Joburg’s best Old Skool and R&B station,’ said Lloyd Madurai, Managing Director of HOT 102.7FM.

HOT 102.7FM first went live on 1 July 2021, with a focus on playing only the hits from the 1970s, 80s, 90s and 2000s, and a presenter line-up featuring some of the biggest names in the industry, including the likes of Tony Murrell, Kevin Savage, Mark Pilgrim, Ursula Chikane, Simon Parkinson and Treasure Tshabalala.

‘Our presenters are just one element of the overall HOT 102.7FM offering,’ said Madurai. ‘We also like to throw the best parties, have an incredibly effective CSI division in Hot Cares that does some amazing work in the community; making a meaningful difference to a host of lives. We generally like to have the maximum fun possible, with putting smiles on people’s faces our priority.’ said Madurai.

HOT 102.7FM congratulates all its fellow nominees and looks forward to celebrating South African radio excellence with its industry colleagues when the winners are announced at the SA Radio Awards event on 2 December.

HOT 102.7FM SA Radio Awards Nominees

Breakfast Show – Joburg’s Hottest Breakfast Show (Tony Murrell, Bunny Majaja, Simon Hill & John Walland)

Daytime Show – The Mark Pilgrim Show

Weekend Radio Show – Breakfast with Rob Vega

Breakfast Presenter- Tony Murrell

Traffic presenter – John Walland

Sports Presenter – Tara Penny

Field News Reporter – Tara Penny

News and Actuality – The Bully Chain

News and Actuality – The Journey to K2

Radio Documentary – The Bully Chain

Radio Documentary – The Journey to K2

Station Imaging

Previous Article
Next Article